This is how it feels.

IMG_5762I am terribly, terribly sad and nothing is making it go away. I know people say that they can’t really understand what mental health problems are like if they haven’t had them – well please allow me to illustrate my example.

A few years ago, I lost my mum to lung cancer. We were close and I very much looked up to her. I thought her death would be the very worst thing that could ever happen to me, and it was pretty horrific.

The way I feel now is worse. With no reason. No bereavement counselling, no reassurance that I will work through ‘stages’ to recovery, no concerned relatives and certainly no fucking flowers. Just a terrifying feeling of darkness, worthlessness of myself and everything around me.

My mental health nurse has moved on to another job and I won’t get another, because the NHS has no money and they have to focus on the people actively taking overdoses rather than the ones fighting the urge. My Personality Disorder psychiatrist ┬ásees so many chaotically ill people – emaciated, angry, covered in scars and cigarette burns – that he understandably says I’m ‘doing well’. I get where he’s coming from, but it’s cold comfort.

I’m so grateful to my friends for sticking around the bundle of definite un-fun that I am. My best mate tells me this will pass, and I have to listen to him. It’s all I have to hold on to.

Leave a Reply

